Yes. Texas law requires a provider to hold a Texas license to administer services to an individual in Texas. A temporary license to practice psychology may be obtained allowing the delivery of services in Texas for up to 30 days. If the provider will need authority to practice for more than 30 days, a full license must be obtained.
Yes. Texas only requires a Texas license for providing services to individuals located in Texas at the time of delivery.
If you have a Texas license you can provide services remotely to clients in Texas, but you will need to contact the other state or country to determine whether you can deliver services from within that jurisdiction to a client in Texas.
Texas does not have jurisdiction on Federal ground. As long as the client is on Federal ground, Federal laws and regulations apply. You will need to contact the Federal government to determine if care can continue. If the client is on Texas ground (off-base residence, for example), a Texas license is required for care to continue.
A Texas license only grants authority to practice in Texas. If you have a client in another state or country you may have to meet the practice requirements of both Texas and the state or country where the client is located. You will need to contact the other state or country to determine whether you can deliver services in that jurisdiction with your Texas License.
Each state has it’s own rules regarding who is or isn’t considered a client. With that being the case, it is always advised to obtain approval from any state or jurisdiction where a participant is located.
Contained within each licensure application packet, prospective applicants will find an Application Checklist which outlines the licensure process for that license as well as the required application materials needed to apply. Application material can be found on the Council’s website
Yes, if your degree was awarded or conferred by an institution of higher education accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, or the United States Department of Education. See Board rule 463.1
No. Pursuant to Board rule 463.12(h), an applicant for permanent licensure is not eligible for temporary licensure.
Yes. During a Governor declared disaster, the Council may issue an Emergency Temporary License to individuals who meet the requirements set forth in Council rule 882.70. Please review the Council rule for the full requirements and restrictions for this license.
Supervision may be documented by a licensed psychologist with knowledge of the supervision and the applicant’s participation in the supervision year. If the applicant is applying for the LSSP and using the hours towards LSSP licensure, then the supervision may be documented by a LSSP with knowledge of the internship program and the applicant’s participation in the internship program.
Yes. For Military Service Members and Veterans, please review the Military Applicant Quick Reference Sheet located in the application packet for the license you are seeking.
Licensed Psychological Associates with Independent Status must be supervised by a psychologist during their post-doctoral experience.
Yes, supervision may be obtained in another state or jurisdiction, but must meet the requirements for Texas licensure.
If you did not complete a formal internship as part of your doctoral program, you are not eligible for licensure as a psychologist. However, you may enroll in a re-specialization program to obtain your internship hours. See Board rule 463.11(f).
Yes. Psychologists in the industrial and organizational area are required to be licensed in Texas. See Board rule 463.11(e) I/O Psychologist licensure requirements.
Currently, Texas does not have any reciprocity agreements with other jurisdictions.
Prospective applicants who began their graduate degree program prior to August 31, 2019, must apply for the LPA prior to August 31, 2021 with a conferred degree, in order to qualify under Board rule 463.8(g). Those who do not meet the criteria under Board rule 463.8(g) or who apply after August 31, 2021 will be required to have a graduate degree with a major in psychology consisting of at least 60 semester credit hours. No more than 12 semester credit hours in practicum, internship or structured experience can be counted toward the total degree hour requirement.
Board rule 463.8 requires 3,000 hours of supervised experience under a Licensed Psychologist after being issued a license as a Licensed Psychological Associate. LPAs who also hold licensure as a Licensed Specialist in School Psychology (LSSP), can utilize supervision obtained in the schools if the supervisor was dually licensed as a Licensed Psychologist and a Licensed Specialist in School Psychology.
Question: What examinations are required for the Licensed Psychologist and where can I find helpful resources and information? Answer: For Licensed Psychologists & Licensed Psychological Associates: 1) Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) - Developed and owned by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), the EPPP is a standardized knowledge-based exam provided to state and provincial boards of psychology to assist them in their evaluation of the qualifications of applicants for licensure and certification. Four hours and 15 minutes is the allotted time for taking the exam. The exam covers eight content areas. For additional information, please review the resources below. • Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) website: www.asppb.net • The EPPP Candidate Handbook (Link) is available for download from the ASPPB’s website. For All Applicants: 2) Texas Jurisprudence Examination - The content areas for the Jurisprudence Examination were identified and developed by the Board’s Written Examination Committee. The primary purpose of the examination is to ensure that all candidates for licensure have the necessary familiarization and knowledge of applicable laws to practice effectively in the state of Texas. For additional information, please review the resources below. • For instructions and access to the Jurisprudence Examination (web page) (Click Here) For LSSP Applicants: 3) Praxis Examination - The psychology test measures whether entry-level psychology educators have the standard-relevant knowledge, skills and abilities believed necessary for competent professional practice. See Education Testing Service (ETS) website for additional information: • https://www.ets.org/praxis • https://www.ets.org/praxis/prepare/materials/5391
Applicants seeking special testing accommodations for the EPPP must submit supporting documentation that complies with Council rule §882.7. Please note, when requesting accommodations in the ASPPB’s EPPP exam portal, the accommodation authorization request is considered a new request and is subject to the normal exam request processing times (up to 10 business days). Therefore, please take the processing time into consideration when attempting to schedule your exam.
Council rule §882.6. Limitation on Number of Examination Attempts. (a) An applicant may take an examination administered or required by the Council no more than three times. Failure to pass an examination subject to this rule within three attempts, will result in an automatic denial of an application. (b) An applicant whose application is denied under this rule may reapply for licensure, but will not be allowed or approved to sit for the exam again until the applicant has submitted a detailed study plan designed to address the known or suspected areas of deficiency. The study plan must be approved by the relevant member board before authorization will be given to retake the examination. (c) Examinations which do not require pre-authorization by the Council to take, are not subject to this rule. Please note, the Jurisprudence Examination falls under (c).
The EPPP score does not expire.
The exam is not timed. The 2:00 Duration shown is an estimated amount of time the exam will take. Prospective applicants have 14 days from the date and time of registration in order to complete and submit the exam, NOT from the time they actually start working on the exam.
Yes. The registration places a new exam into your existing account and will activate the 14 day period for completing the exam.
Council rule §882.5. Jurisprudence Examination Requirement. Applicants must take and pass the jurisprudence examination no more than 6 months prior to submitting an application for licensure to the Council.
There are no limits on the number of attempts for the Jurisprudence Exam pursuant to Council rule §882.6(c).
For instructions and access to the Jurisprudence Examination click here.
Individuals can request an analysis of the Jurisprudence exam by submitting the Request for Analysis of the Jurisprudence Examination (web link) along with the processing fee. The analysis will list the total number of questions answered incorrectly, as well as the number of questions answered incorrectly within each content area. The exam analysis will not however identify which questions were answered incorrectly.
Applicants should contact the Help Desk for the Council’s exam vendor, eStrategy’s Solutions, as soon as possible. On the exam registration page you can select the NEED HELP button. You will see: Contact Us: Help Desk: Submit a support request, or phone 800-215-0641. Hours: Support is available weekdays from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM (US/Central), excluding holidays. We will do our best to respond as quickly as possible. Some users may not receive a reply until the next business day.
Pursuant to rule 883.1, renewals are due on the last day of the license holder's birth month, but may be completed up to 60 days in advance. Renewal reminder postcards are mailed out 30 days prior to renewal, however it is still the licensee’s responsibility to ensure they renew on time.
Failure to renew before the last day of licensee’s birth month, will result in a delinquent license. Licensees are not permitted to practice on a delinquent license. In addition, late fees will be added in accordance to rule 885.1 and cannot be waived. Failure to renew within 1 year of delinquency will result in an expired license.
Licensees are required to renew through the Council’s Online Licensing System. Licensees are able to renew their license up to 60 days prior to their license expiration date.
Pursuant to rule 882.21 inactive status is for licensees who wish to place their license on hold for two years, rather than retire the license. During the period of inactivity the licensee may not practice. Licensees can request inactive status through the Council’s Online Licensing System
Prior to reactivation, licensees are encouraged to read and complete the steps outlined under Council rule 882.21. Once complete, licensees must submit the Request to Return to Active Status form located under the Council’s “Forms and Publications” section.
Licensees can submit an email with the subject line of “Retirement”. In the body of the email, include licensee name, license type, and date of retirement. If there is no retirement date listed, then the Council staff will mark the license retired effective immediately.
Licensees can order a renewal permit through the Council’s Online Licensing System. The cost is $10.
Former licensees may apply for reinstatement of a license by submitting the Application for Reinstatement of a License, located under the Forms and Publications section on the Board’s homepage. Prior to submission, you are encouraged to review Council rule 882.22.
The Council does not approve continuing education courses. Instead, the Council has adopted rules that outline what is considered appropriate professional development. This means a licensee can receive professional development from any person or organization that provides the education in accordance with the Council’s rules. No approval by the Council is needed for the individual or organization to engage in the delivery of professional development and no approval of specific courses are required. Licensees are still audited for compliance and during those reviews, staff evaluate the professional development documentation submitted. The rules on professional development course requirements can be found in each profession's consolidated rule book found here.
Licensees are encouraged to read rule 463.35(a) for professional development requirements.
Licensees are encouraged to read rule 463.35 for complete information on professional development hours and provider requirements.
The Council will send an audit notification to the licensee’s address of record 60 days prior to the renewal deadline. Therefore, it is important for licensees to keep their address of record current.
The Human Trafficking Course is required at every renewal and can be counted toward your professional development hours. To complete an approved human trafficking course, please visit the Health and Human Services (website).
Similar to professional development, an approved human trafficking course must be completed every renewal cycle.
Self-study refers to activities undertaken by a licensee that are informal and do not involve a CE provider. Reading professional journal articles is an example of self-study. A good rule of thumb is, “If you get a certificate at the completion of the endeavor, it’s NOT self-study.”
Licensees under CE audit receive a renewal notification letter while those not under audit receive a renewal notification postcard.
Submit the Name Change Form located under “Forms and Publications” section on the Council’s website. Be sure to include the required supporting documentation.
Updates for addresses, emails, and phone numbers must be done through the online licensing system, which can be accessed from the Council’s homepage. Make sure the changes are reflected on the “Summary” page before clicking submit
An individual can verify a license by conducting an online Public Search from the Council’s website. For written verification of a license, please submit of the appropriate written verification form located under “Forms and Publication” along with the processing fee to the Council’s office.
Family members or individuals in charge with handling the affairs of the deceased, may submit a copy of the obituary or a copy of the death certificate to the agency.
Prospective applicants with a foreign degree must first have their degree evaluated by foreign degree evaluation service that is a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES)., prior to submitting a licensure application. Results of the evaluation will need to accompany any licensure application. Prospective applicants are encouraged to review the licensure requirements prior to undergoing the evaluation process.
Staff cannot provide guidance on which type of business entity is best for your situation. You should consult either a CPA or an Attorney with experience in these matters. Additionally, if you do set up a business entity, you do not need to register it with the board as we do not collect that data.
There is nothing in the rules that prohibits a licensee from providing life-coaching services. However, a client might file a complaint against your BHEC license for life-coaching services. The complaint will be investigated and if the services provided overlap with your licensed scope of practice disciplinary action may result. In short, though life-coaching does not require a license in Texas, that doesn’t automatically exempt a BHEC licensee from discipline should there be a complaint regarding services provided as a life-coach.
The board is not involved with the administration of these Federal programs. Please direct any Medicare/Medicaid questions to the Center for Medicare/Medicaid Services
Unless there is a court order, divorce decree, etc. with language to the contrary, treatment can be authorized by either parent.